Kanin Awards

Michael Kanin Playwriting Awards

The distinguished playwright and screenwriter Michael Kanin (1910-1993) arranged for a remarkable series of awards to be given to student writers whose plays are entered as part of the festival. The purpose of the program is to encourage college students to write for the stage by providing the opportunity for them to engage in the playwriting process.

Each new play registered as a Participating production will be considered for regional and national festival presentation with other entries. The festival expects the same high standard of production support for original scripts as is given any entry. The play selected to receive the National Student Playwriting Award will be presented at the national festival. The KCACTF National Selection Team will view National Student Playwriting Award entrants selected for regional festival presentation and select from that pool of entries.

The student-written play must be entered at the appropriate level. Plays eligible for the National Student Playwriting Award must be Participating-level entries.

Download cover sheet for full length play submissions: COVER SHEET FOR FULL LENGTH